Alumni Achievement Awards and the
Robert Van Houten Award for Teaching Excellence

 2010 Induction Ceremonies
Saturday Evening, May 22, 2010

Evening Schedule:

Each year the Alumni Association honors a select group of distinguished alumni with the Alumni Achievement Award for notable efforts in their professional careers, community activities, and/or support for NJIT.  On the same occasion, the Association awards an outstanding faculty member with the Robert W. Van Houten Award for Teaching Excellence.  The names of this past year's honorees and a brief summary of the achievements of each are shown below.

  • 4:00 p.m.  Champagne Toast & Awards Ceremony
  • 6:00 p.m.  Reception hosted by NJIT President Robert Altenkirch
  • 7:00 p.m.  Dinner-Dance

Alumni and guests will be attending this event from around the country in conjunction with Alumni Reunion Weekend. 

Alumni Achievement Award Recipients for 2009:

  • Fadi Deek BSCIS '85, MSCIS '86, Ph.D. CIS '97. Dean of the College of Science & Liberal Arts at NJIT.  For his innovations in Research and Education including the initiation of the Information Technology program, the new Department of Biological Sciences and his cultivation of the Federated departments of NJIT and Rutgers-Newark; his leadership in bringing CSLA from a mind set as a service college to a growing college with increasing numbers of majors every year; and his countless efforts in mentoring both students and faculty.
  • Eugene V. Dotter, Ph.D.  BS. CE '41.  Owner and President of Dotter Engineering Corp.  For his recognized, outstanding structural design of thousands of projects many of which have enhanced the quality of life of residents in third world countries; and his receipt of the U.S. President�s Volunteer Service Award.
  • Paul Eng-Wong  BS CE '75, MS CE '80.  President of Eng-Wong Taub & Associates.  For his acknowledged entrepreneurial leadership in the field of transportation projects; and his continuing service to both the engineering profession and to the greater Newark community, including his alma mater NJIT.
  • Earl Granville Jackson IV  B. Arch '99.  Associate and Senior Urban Designer at Skidmore, Owings and Merrill, LLP.  For his exceptional achievements in urban planning and design for complex projects, including a 1.2 million square foot mixed-use waterfront development in Bahrain; for his successful entries in numerous design competitions; and for his support for career development of many NJIT alumni.
  • Lawrence I. Lerner BS EE '56. Of Counsel for Lerner, David, Littenberg, Krumholz & Mentlik, LLP.  For his leadership in the largest intellectual property law firm in New Jersey; for his noteworthy pro bono activities, including the "Scimmager v. Sherwin" case in 1972 that established the "one man - one vote" principle in New Jersey; and for his tireless service in community and professional activities.
  • Joseph P. McCann MS CHE '68. U.S. Army CECOM, Fort Monmouth, Wire & Cable Expert for U.S. DOD (ret.).  For his significant development and patent of "Waterproof Electrical Cable" that revolutionized the transmission of communications signals via cable in the 1960's; and for his achievements with the U.S. Rural Electrification Administration in developing specifications now used worldwide.

Van Houten Award for Teaching Excellence for 2009:

Alumni Association of NJIT Awards Committee:

Committee Co-Chairs:
    Gene R. O'Brien, P.E. '62 NCE
    Anita M. Rubino '83 CSLA

Committee members:
    Robert A. Rossi '67 NCE
    Steven B. Saperstein '84 CSLA
    Joseph G. Stanley '78 NCE, '85 NCE