Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting September 13, 2022

Eberhardt Room 112, 11:30 AM-1:30 PM

- I. <u>Convening of the Meeting Ellen Thomas, President</u>
 The meeting started at 11:36AM
- II. <u>Voting Members Present</u>: A. Eun Jung Lee, R. Assaad, J. Lee, M. Booty, D. Horntrop, Y. Young, D. Bunker, I. Gatley, C. Prodan, H. Grebel, R. Rojas-Cessa, T. Weiss, B. Khusid, P. Armenante, N. Steffen-Fluhr, A. Lefkovitz, A. Borgaonkar, E. Farinas, R. Sodhi, S. Cai, A. Zarzycki, T. Narahara, E. Thomas, J. Shi, Y. Perl, X. Ding, A. Gerbessiotis, H. Chen
- III. Non-Voting Members Present: A. Dhawan, E. Hetherington, B. Baltzis, B. Haggerty, M. Kam, K. Belfield, G. Esperdy, C. Gotsman, L. Hamilton, A. Hoang, J. Sodhi, M. Stanko, J. Bonchi, D. Kornegay
- IV. <u>Guest Present</u>: E. Hou (Academic Affairs), S. Ziavras (Graduate Studies), L. Simon (Undergraduate Studies), J. Geller (Data Science), J. Meng Loh (Mathematical Sciences), M. Boger (Dean of Students)
- V. <u>Approval of Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting on May 10, 2022</u>

 Motion to approve the minutes by A. Borgaonkar and seconded by A. Gerbessiotis.

 The minutes were approved with 1 abstention.
- VI. Report of the Faculty Senate President (15 Minutes)
 - a. Introduction of new Senators
 - b. Dr. Teik Lim will be presenting at our next meeting, 9/27
 - c. Monthly meetings are ongoing: Dr. Lim, Dr. Dhawan, Cathy Brennan, CIO office
 - d. New Position: Director for Academic HR, reports to HR
 - e. Searches beginning: Provost, Chief Diversity Officer, President's Chief of Staff
 - f. Meeting with Provost Search Firm
 - g. Vice Provost, Enrollment Management Search: committee requesting 7-9 Senators to meet with candidates 10/19, 10/20, 10/26/ 10/28 (2:30-3:30)
 - h. Faculty Achievement Celebration: Wednesday, September 28 (separate from 1st year convocation event)
 - i. Concerns about physical priorities
 - j. The Future of the Faculty Senate
 - i. Elections

VII. Provost's Report (Atam Dhawan)

Provost A. Dhawan gave his Provost's Report. Topics covered: NJIT Institutional Focus, NJIT Unprecedented Growth & Success: 2020 Vision + 2025 Strategic Plan, Research

Growth Trajectory (Since 2015), and Interim Provost Strategic Initiatives (22-23). Q&A with discussion followed.

VIII. PhD in Data Science (Jim Geller)

J. Geller gave his presentation on a new PhD in Data Science.

Motion:

We move to approve the PhD in Data Science, provided that

- 1. An Institutional response is prepared (for the external reviewer's report) for Provost's review and approval.
- 2. YWCC prepares a proposal on the resources and budget needed for discussion with the Provost and senior administration for institutional approval.

As soon as these two documents are accepted by the Provost, the PhD in Data Science may be presented to the Board of Trustees.

Motion to approve by R. Sodhi and seconded by I. Gatley. Q&A with discussion. E. Thomas: mentioned MoU between Management, Computing and Math. The motion was passed unanimously.

IX. New Travel Policy (Boris Khusid)

B. Khusid gave his presentation on issues with the New Travel Policy. Motion to maintain prior flexibility of choice in travel arrangements for sponsored research travel. Motion to approve B. Khusid and seconded by H. Grebel. Concern about student covering costs. Q&A with discussion. Friendly amendment: to maintain prior flexibility of in travel arrangements. Motion passed unanimously.

X. FS Standing Committee members needed:

- a. Research, chaired by Jay Meegoda, meets remotely Wednesdays 8-10
 - i. Andrzej Zarzycki will be the Faculty Senate representative.
- b. CGE, chaired by Sotori Ziavras, meets the 2nd Tuesday of the month this fall, the 1st Thursday of the month in the spring
 - i. Alison Lefkofitz will be the Faculty Senate representative.
- c. University Senate Campus Life Committee, meets twice a semester
 - i. Nancy Steffen-Fluhr will be the Faculty Senate representative.
- d. CFRR will be chaired by D. Bunker.

XI. Teaching Academic Ranks

Topic to be discussed at a different time

XII. New business

No new business

XIII. The meeting ended at 1:26PM. Motion to adjourn by, A. Borgaonkar and seconded by A. Zarzycki.