President's Report 2003-2004: Books Published


                                                                       BOOKS PUBLISHED

Fadi P. Deek, PhD, acting dean of the College of Science and Liberal Arts and director of the Information Technology program, and James McHugh, PhD, professor of computer science, are co-authors of Computer-supported Collaboration with Software Applications (2003), Kluwer Academic Publications.


Atam Dhawan, PhD, professor and chair of electrical and computer engineering, authored Medical Image Analysis (2003), published by John Wiley and Sons.


Moses Fayngold, PhD, special lecturer in physics, is the author of Special Relativity and Motions Faster than Light, published by Wiley-VCH, Germany.

Narain Gehani, PhD, professor and chairman of computer science, is the author of Bell Labs: Life in the Crown Jewel (2003), published by Silicon Press.


Vladislav V. Goldberg, PhD, distinguished professor of mathematical sciences, is co-author of Tensor Calculus with Applications (2003) with M.A. Akivis, published by World Scientific Publishers. The team also authored Tensor Calculus (in Russian, 2003) FIZMATLIT, and a monograph, Differential Geometry of Varieties with Degenerate Gauss Maps, published by Springer-Verlag.


Roger E. Hernandez, university lecturer in humanities and writer in residence, co-authored with Alex Anton Cubans in America: A Vibrant History of a People in Exile (2003), published by Kensington Publishing Corporation. He has also written a series of books for young readers, “Discovering Latin America,” published by Mason Crest Publishers. During 2003, he published three in the series, Paraguay, Cuba and South America: Facts and Figures.


Joseph Leung, PhD, distinguished professor of computer science, is the editor of Handbook of Scheduling: Algorithms, Models and Performance Analysis  (2004), published by CRC Press.


Somenath Mitra, PhD, professor of chemistry, is editor of Sample Preparation Techniques in Analytical Chemistry (2003), published by John Wiley and Sons.



John E. O’Connor, PhD, professor of history, co-edited with Peter C. Rollins Hollywood's White House: The American Presidency in Film and History (2003), published by the University Press of Kentucky, and The West Wing: The American Presidency As Television Drama (2003), published by the Syracuse University Press.


David B. Rothenberg, PhD, associate professor of philosophy, and Wandee Pryor, managing editor of Terra Nova Projects at NJIT, co-edited Writing the Future: Progress and Evolution (2004) and Writing on Air (2003), both published by the MIT Press.


Wojciech Rytter, PhD, professor of computer science, is the author of Jewels of Stringology (2002), with Maxime Crochemore, published by World Scientific Publishing Co.


Jason Wang, PhD, professor of computer science, is co-editor of Computational Biology and Genome Informatics (2003) with Cathy Wu of Georgetown University and Paul Wang of Duke University, published by World Scientific.