Agenda of the Faculty Senate Meeting November 8, 2022

Eberhardt 110, 11:30 AM-1:30 PM

- I. Approval of Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting on October 11, 2022
- II. Report of the Faculty Senate President (10 Minutes)
 - a. Inauguration of President Teik C. Lim
 - i. April 26 28th
 - b. PAC 7 (Strategy, Mission and Prominence) meeting
 - c. EAB presentation
 - d. Graduation
 - e. IFM, October 19th/ December 14th
 - f. Search Committee Faculty Forum Criteria
 - i. Vice President for Digital Strategy and CDO
 - g. Year of rebuilding and the Future of the Faculty Senate?
- III. CGE report and motions (Sotiri Ziavras, 10 minutes)
 - 1. PhD in Computer Science
 - 2. MS in Computer Science
 - 3. MS in Bioinformatics
 - 4. MS in Cybersecurity and Privacy
 - 5. MS in Software Engineering
 - 6. MS in Computer Engineering
- IV. <u>Online program changes and quality assurance (Daniel L. White, Associate Provost for Online Programs)</u>
- V. Overview of new budgeting process, (Cathy Brennan and Lisa Easton)
- VI. <u>Faculty and staff engagement survey (Dale McLeod)</u>
- VII. Evaluation of Senior Administrators
- VIII. New business

Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting November 8, 2022

Eberhardt 112, 11:30 AM-1:30 PM

- I. <u>Convening of the Meeting Ellen Thomas, President</u> The meeting started at 11:36AM
- II. <u>Voting Members Present:</u> R. Assaad, J. Lee, M. Booty, D. Horntrop, J. Golowasch (on behalf of D. Bunker), H. Grebel, R. Rojas-Cessa, T. Weiss, B. Khusid, P. Armenante, C. McRae, A. Lefkovitz, A. Borgaonkar, E. Farinas, A. Zarzycki, T. Narahara, E. Thomas, J. Shi, X. Ding, A. Gerbessiotis, N. Steffen-Fluhr
- III. <u>Non-Voting Members Present:</u> A. Dhawan, E. Hetherington, E. Hou, B. Haggerty, M. Kam, K. Belfield, G. Esperdy, J. Sodhi, M. Stanko, J. Bonchi, S. Corchado
- IV. <u>Guests Present:</u> Nikki Bosca (Global Teaching & Course Development), Dan White (Online Programs), Sotiri Ziavras (Graduate Studies), Dale McLeod (Human Resources), Martina Decker (HCAD), Marvin Nakayama (Computer Science), Katie Hageman (Chief of Staff), Laurent Simon (Undergraduate Studies), Amit Bose (Mathematical Sciences), Geraldine Milano (CEE), Cathy Brennan (CFO), Lisa Easton (University Budgeting), Walid Hubbi (ECE), Porchiung Chou (MTSM)
- V. <u>Approval of Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting on October 11, 2022</u>

 Motion to approve the minutes by A. Borgaonkar and seconded by D. Horntrop. Minutes are approved unanimously.
- VI. Report of the Faculty Senate President (10 Minutes)
 - a. Inauguration of President Teik C. Lim
 - i. April 26 28th
 - b. Strategic Plan
 - i. Enhance strategic plan
 - ii. Spoke on strategic plan at President's Council retreat
 - iii. Formally start the process with a new strategic plan
 - iv. Chief of staff introduction
 - c. PAC 7 (Strategy, Mission and Prominence) meeting
 - i. PACs are meeting
 - d. EAB presentation
 - i. Revamp the Campus Directory
 - ii. Move to a cloud-based product
 - iii. Contact Peggy Kenrick if interested in getting involved
 - e. Graduation
 - f. IFM, October 19th/ December 14th
 - g. Search Committee Faculty Forum Criteria
 - i. Vice President for Digital Strategy and CDO
 - h. Year of rebuilding and the Future of the Faculty Senate?

- i. Lack of Faculty engagement in Faculty led meetings and initiatives
- ii. Get back into in person meetings and discussions for better and more faculty engagement

VII. CGE report and motions (Sotiri Ziavras, 10 minutes)

- 1. PhD in Computer Science
 - a. Motion to approve: E. Thomas
 - b. Seconded: A. Gerbessiotis
 - c. Motion approved
- 2. MS in Computer Science
 - a. Motion to approve: A. Gerbessiotis
 - b. Seconded: A. Lefkovitz
 - c. Motion approved
- 3. MS in Bioinformatics
 - a. Motion to approve: A. Gerbessiotis
 - b. Seconded: A. Lefkovitz
 - c. Motion approved
- 4. MS in Cybersecurity and Privacy
 - a. Motion to approve: A. Gerbessiotis
 - b. Seconded: A. Lefkovitz
 - c. Motion approved
- 5. MS in Software Engineering
 - a. Motion to approve: A. Gerbessiotis
 - b. Seconded: A. Lefkovitz
 - c. Motion approved
- 6. MS in Computer Engineering
 - a. Motion to approve: A. Borgaonkar
 - b. Seconded: R. Rojas-Cessa
 - c. Motion approved

VIII. Online program changes and quality assurance (Daniel L. White, Associate Provost for Online Programs)

- a. Structure of the Office of Online Programs and Primary charges
- b. External Requirements
- c. NC Sara Compliance
- d. NJIT Work to Date
- e. Questions and discussion followed

IX. Overview of new budgeting process, (Cathy Brennan and Lisa Easton)

- a. Budget Model Redesign Project Status Update.
- b. Met with other Universities to look at different models.
- c. Create more ownership on fiscal sustainability on campus.
- d. Listed driving factors for starting this new budgeting process.
- e. Milestones for the process thus far.
- f.Spoke on the Task Force & working group composition.
- g. Q&A with discussion.

X. Faculty and staff engagement survey (Dale McLeod)

- a. Gallup's work in Higher Education
- b. Engagement and Culture at NJIT
- c. Importance of Engagement survey to make changes
- d. Everyone owns engagement
- e. The survey will be available for 2 weeks and anonymous f.Q&A with discussion followed

XI. CFRR update

CFRR updated will occur at the next meeting

XII. Evaluation of Senior Administrators

Push for evaluation of Senior Administrators

XIII. New business

No new business

XIV. The meeting ended at 1:20PM. Andre and seconded by Haim.