Proposed change to Default Department Bylaws

2. VOTING MEMBERSHIP AND ITS ADJUSTMENT

2.1 Voting Membership

The voting membership of the Department consists of all Faculty members with primary affiliations in the Department (as defined in Sections 2.2 and 2.4.2 of the Faculty Handbook), exclusive of Department Faculty who hold administrative positions at the level of Dean or above. Department Faculty who are on leave may attend meetings and take part fully in Department business if they wish to do so, subject to University personnel policies and regulations. However, they have a special status in regard to determining a quorum at meetings, as stated in Section 4.4 below. <u>Voting membership is extended to University</u> <u>Lecturers and Senior University Lecturers in regard to the following specific areas of Department affairs, curriculum development, course and program assessment, and program administration. Voting membership can be expanded to additional specific areas of Department affairs excluding voting for the Department Chairperson, voting upon anything in the purview of the promotion and tenure committee, voting related to merit determinations, or any other matters regulated by the Faculty Handbook, the PSA Agreement, or any other approved University policies.</u>

2.2 Adjustments to the Voting Membership

By amending these bylaws in accordance with Section 7 below, the Department may elect to add other categories of Department members—such as Instructional Staff, (as defined in <u>Section 2 of the Faculty Handbook</u> or particular categories therein, such as Senior <u>University Lecturers and University Lecturers</u>) and Faculty with joint appointments whose primary affiliation is with another Department—to the voting membership of the Department in regard to specific areas of Department affairs, such as curriculum development and program administration. However, such adjustments to the voting membership cannot be made in regard to voting for the Department Chairperson, voting upon promotion and tenure decisions, voting related to merit determinations, voting to approve or amend Department bylaws, or any other matters regulated by the Faculty Handbook, the PSA Agreement, or any other approved University policies.

Rationale: Senior University Lecturers and Lecturers are full time employees and members of NJIT's Academic Units. They play a critical and essential role in the proper functioning of our University. They have a right to be part of the decision making process through their eligibility to vote on various Departmental/School issues.